top of page
  • Sydney Lawson

Camera Love - Why Photography Matters to Me


I feel like my purpose is to be a photographer ever since I viewed life through my first film camera. The magic and the reality of creating a frozen moment of what my perspective is in the world is so important to me.


What is interesting is that when I learned about the world of photography, film was the medium I was taught on. When I learned photography using film, it was a pure art just understanding the relationship with the camera and how it would produce the images I was to create. You can't just look at your screen like you do with digital cameras and see if you needed to make adjustments. You had to fully understand how to use the camera and find just the right formula of settings to produce a quality image. I believe this was what made photography so magical to me. I became so in-tune with how to work with the camera, but also read the light that was surrounding my subjects and know what I was going to be able to capture.


It's with these techniques and passion that I learned to really "see" the beauty through my camera and know just the right moment to press the shutter release.


Over time I developed the eye to see in my every day life the things that most people wouldn't notice. I have become very passionate about capturing memories and seeing the pure joy people had for one another in family portraits, couples when they first got engaged, and children just being silly and fun!


We go through our lives noticing these expressions and seeing them in real time, but when you have the moment to be able to capture those looks and the people you love it's such a warm feeling to be able to relive that moment again!


This is why I love photography and why I do what I do. It's worth it every day!


Would you like to find that passion for yourself? Read my blog about Building a Relationship with your Camera.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page